Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Volunteer Partnership > Outstanding Senior Volunteers
A+ A- Reset

Outstanding Senior Volunteers

​Tony Tussing - District Winner! 

Lewis (Tony) Tussing, one of DeLand’s busiest volunteers, was honored as Outstanding Senior Volunteer.  He volunteers for DeLand’s elementary schools, Southwestern Middle, and DeLand High. A retired teacher, his membership in Southwestern’s School Advisory Council and PTSO provides an opportunity for Tussing to share his knowledge of education. In addition, he frequently speaks on behalf of schools at community meetings and has recruited the local Kiwanis Club and Rotary as active community partners.  Tussing has been a tutor and a Take Stock in Children mentor at DeLand High.  For years he has written weekly columns called “Class Notes” for the DeLand Beacon newspaper, promoting school/parent communication while highlighting the schools’ “good-news.”  This year Tussing organized a back-to-school supply drive at Southwestern Middle and promoted the school’s yearly yard sale which provides fieldtrip scholarships. 

Senior Volunteers of the Year 2012 

(School, Volunteer)
Blue Lake Elementary, Marietta Keeler
Burns Science-Technology, Brenda Geiger
Campbell Middle, Patricia Sheridan
Champion Elementary, Monty Carlo
Chisholm Elementary, Richard Jodoin
Creekside Middle, Joyce Budd
Cypress Creek Elementary, Yvonne Wiggins
Enterprise Elementary,Norma Adamczyk
Forest Lake Elementary, JoAnn Torizzo
Freedom Elementary, JoAnn Torizzo
Friendship Elementary, Rose Mary Tirado
Horizon Elementary, Carol Tatum
Indian River Elementary, Charles MacDonald
Manatee Cove Elementary, Alonzo Blanchet
Louise S. McInnis Elementary, Barbara Friend
Ormond Beach Elementary, Carlotta Irvin
Osteen Elementary, Nancy Kyle
Pathways Elementary, Lyliane Adjemian
Pride Elementary, Mike Williams
Read-Pattillo Elementary, Virginia Marshall
South Daytona Elementary, Grace Kwiatkowski
Southwestern Middle, Tony Tussing
Spirit Elementary, Martha Welday
Edith I. Starke, Billye Staples
Sugar Mill Elementary, Sharon Delamater
Sunrise Elementary, Dorothy Thompson
T. DeWitt Taylor Middle-High, Nancy Prosser-Marshall
Timbercrest Elementary, Barbara Kleinhans
Westside Elementary, Pat Pressley
Woodward Avenue Elementary,
 Marsha Cameron
VCS Outlook Web Access
VCS Staff Applications