Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Volunteer Partnership > Five Star School Award
A+ A- Reset

Five Star School Award

‚ÄčThe Five Star School Award is the highest award for community involvement that is bestowed by the Florida Department of Education. To qualify for this award, a school must achieve 100% of 29 criteria in the categories of Business Partnership, Family Involvement, Volunteers, Student Community Service, and School Advisory Councils.   This is documented annually in a portfolio.   Volusia County Schools is very proud of the consistent growth in their number of Five Star Schools.   Ten years ago we had fifteen, and today we celebrate 55 Five Star Schools.


Congratulations Five Star Schools 2011-2012

(School, Principal, Year)
Blue Lake Elementary, Willie Williams, 7
Campbell Middle, Craig Zablo,  7
Champion Elementary, Dr. Maryann Bull, 9
The Chiles Academy, Anne Ferguson, 8
Chisholm Elementary, Kelly Carter, 2
Coronado Beach Elementary,  Kelly Carter, 10
Creekside Middle, Dr. Karen Beattie, 10
Cypress Creek Elementary,  Sandy Russell, 4
DeBary Elementary, Teresa Marcks , 10
Deltona Lakes Elementary, Judy Rivera-Hilaire, 13
Deltona Middle, James Bambrick, 3
Discovery Elementary, Susie Williamson, 13
Enterprise Elementary, Dr. Virginia Abernathy, 10
Forest Lake Elementary, Ramonita Pagan, 6
Freedom Elementary, Claire Beth Link, 4
Friendship Elementary, Maria Martoral, 10
Galaxy Middle, Julian Jones, 10
George Marks Elementary, Kate Godbee, 3
David C. Hinson, Sr. Middle, Lesley Sileo-Robinson,  6
Holly Hill Elementary, Julie Roseboom, 8
Horizon Elementary, Juanita Collins, 6
Indian River Elementary, Jeri Murphy, 17
R.J. Longstreet Elementary, Bonnie Gyarfas, 11
Manatee Cove Elementary, Alice Gonzalez, 5
New Smyrna Beach High, Jim Tager, 3
Orange City Elementary. Lisa Buchanan, 8
Ormond Beach Elementary, Dr. Maryanne Bull, 8
Ormond Beach Middle, Matthew Krajewski, 7
Ortona Elementary, Marie Stratton,  12
Osceola Elementary, Marie Stratton, 8
Osteen Elementary, Robert Ouellette, 9
Palm Terrace Elementary, John Cash, 2
Pathways Elementary, Joseph Ronca, 7
Port Orange Elementary, Bonnie Gyarfas,  15
Pride Elementary, Leslie Frazee, 3
Read-Pattillo Elementary, Marilyn Travis, 7
River Springs Middle, Stacy Gotlib, 3
Seabreeze High, Bob Wallace, 5
Silver Sands Middle, Rose Roland, 8
South Daytona Elementary, Dr. Carolyn Burhans, 10
Southwestern Middle, Mamie Oatis, 7
Spirit Elementary, Brandy Hogue,  7
Spruce Creek Elementary, Sandra Kaye, 13
Spruce Creek High, Todd Sparger,  11
Edith I. Starke Elementary, Torrence Broxton, 5
Sugar Mill Elementary, Janet Garzia,  12
Sunrise Elementary, Jim Bishop, 6
Sweetwater Elementary, Pat Miller, 16
T. DeWitt Taylor Middle-High, Ron Pagano, 2
Timbercrest Elementary, Dr. Mary Cool, 14
Tomoka Elementary, Julie Johnson, 13
Turie T. Small Elem, Dr. Earl Johnson, 3
Volusia Pines Elementary, Tami Fisher,  5
Westside Elementary, Judy Winch, 7
Woodward Avenue Elementary, Torrence Broxton, 9
 Five Star School Award.pdfFive Star School Award.pdf

VCS Outlook Web Access
VCS Staff Applications