Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Assessment and Accountability > FSA Reading, Math and Statewide Science Assessment
A+ A- Reset

FSA Reading, Math and Statewide Science Assessment

​​​​Florida Standards and Florida Standards Assessments

The Florida Standards in Mathematics and English Language Arts were approved by the Florida State Board of Education in February 2014 and will be fully implemented in grades K–12 in the 2014–2015 school year

The following Florida Standards Assessments were administered for the first time in Spring 2015:

  • Grades 3–10 English Language Arts (Writing component in grades 4–11)

  • Grades 3–8 Mathematics

  •  Algebra 1 End-of-Course Assessment

  •  Geometry End-of-Course Assessment

  •  Algebra 2 End-of-Course Assessment

Scoring and Reporting

FSA ELA and Mathematics results will be reported using the following three measures:

  • Scores —For the first administration, students will receive two performance indicators: a T score and a percentile rank. The T score is a score on a scale of 20-80 with approximately 50 as the statewide average. Students will also receive a percentile rank, which will show how they performed on each grade level/subject area test compared to all other students in Florida who took the same test. After achievement-level cut scores are established, districts will receive 2014-2015 FSA retrofitted test results to reflect student performance on the new score scale. For grade 3 and grade 10 ELA, a score linked to the FCAT 2.0 grade 3 and grade 10 assessments will be provided.

  • Content Area Scores―Content area scores are reported as the actual number of points earned out of the number of points possible for each reporting category. Reporting categories represent groups of similar skills, or benchmarks, which are assessed within each grade level and subject area.

  • Achievement Levels―The success a student has achieved with the Florida Standards will be assessed by FSA ELA and mathematics assessments and is described by Achievement Levels that range from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest). Level 3 indicates satisfactory performance. The level of performance required to score in each Achievement Level will be established prior to the spring 2016 administration.

FCAT Science 2.0

The benchmarks of the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards represent the skills and knowledge deemed essential for Florida students and are the foundation for the FCAT 2.0.  Because of the FCAT 2.0’s direct link to the Standards, students who have mastered the Standards and have practiced with FCAT item formats should perform well on the FCAT 2.0. 

FCAT Science 2.0 is a rigorous test that assesses student performance in Science at grades 5 and 8. The science FCAT assesses student achievement in the areas of the Nature of Science, Earth and Space, Physical Science and Life Science

Achievement levels describe the success a student has achieved on the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards tested on the FCAT 2.0. Achievement levels range from 1 to 5, with Level 1 being the lowest and Level 5 being the highest.

VCS Outlook Web Access
VCS Staff Applications